Oshoala leads Super Falcons 21-woman squad for 2018 AWCON

share on:

Super Falcons

Here are the 21 Super Falcons selected by Thomas Dennerby for the 2018 AWCON in Ghana.

African Women's Player of the Year Asisat Oshoala leads the 21 Super Falcon players selected to represent Nigeria at the announced 2018 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON).

Head Coach Thomas Dennerby took 23 players to Abidjan and has finally dropped two players as he submitted his list for the tournament.

The players dropped are Ogonna Chukwudi of Krstianstand DFF, Sweden and Ugochi Emenayo Nasarawa Amazons.


21 Super Falcons

Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels)

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels); Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Ebere (Barcelona FC, Cyprus); Faith Michael (Pitea IF, Sweden); Onome Ebi (Henan Huisanhang, China); Osinachi Ohale (Vaxjo DFF, Sweden); Josephine Chukwunonye (Asarum AIF, Sweden)


Midfielders: Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Okobi (Eskiltuna UTD, Sweden); Rita Chikwelu (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden); Halimat Ayinde (Asarum AIF, Sweden); Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazons).

Forwards: Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo Queens); Asisat Oshoala (Dalian Quanjian, China); Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France); Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal); Chinwendu Ihezuo (Biik Kazygurt, Kazakhstan) 

The Super Falcons are drawn along with South Africa, Kenya, and Zambia in group B of the 2018 AWCON.

While hosts Ghana will face Algeria, Mali and Cameroon in Group A of the competition.

According to the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) the Super Falcons are camped at the ASEC Mimosas FC academy, Sol Beni.

The team is expected to depart for the host country on Wednesday, November 14 after concluding preparations.

2018 AWCON

The 2018 AWCON tournament kicks off from Saturday, September 17 till Saturday, December 11 across Ghanaian cities Accra and Cape Coast.

Thomas Dennerby's side will play three group games with the top two in each group progressing to the semifinal of the competition, while only three teams will qualify for the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup.

The Super Falcons of Nigeria are the defending champions and begin their campaign against the Bayana Bayana of South Africa on Sunday, November 18.






My name is Jaramike Daniel a blogger with a vision, a programmer in the making, a web developer by hobby and a Nigerian by birth.. My dream is to inspire youths with passion in the tech aspect. I create and design websites for schools, Companies and Organisation... I can be reached through any of my social media listed below or whatsapp on +2348168210251

Leave a Comment

share on: