South Africa call-up Percy Tau, 22 others for Super Eagles AFCON qualifier

share on:

South Africa national team

South Africa have called up their best players home and abroad for the 2019 AFCON qualifier against Nigeria.

South Africa head coach Stuart Baxter has announced a 23-man squad to face Nigeria in a group E 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier on Saturday, 17 November at the FNB Stadium.

The Bafana Bafana of South Africa face of with the Super Eagles of Nigeria with a qualification ticket to the 2019 AFCON at stake for both teams.

Nigeria are top of the group with nine points and South Africa are not far behind with seven points from four games.


The South Africans were victorious the last time the two countries met in the opening game of the group stage.

Baxter named a 23 man strong list of home based and foriegn stars as some key players in the team are out with injury.

Stars players such as Dean Furman,, Keagan Dolly, Bongani Zungu, Bradley Grobler and Sibusiso Vilakazi are all missing with a call-up to England based Kamohelo Mokotjo.

Baxter on Bafana Bafana

Speaking about the squad, Baxter revealed that injuries to key players have weakened his team but they will try to get all three points at stake.

He said, “It has really been a tough task to select the team to face Nigeria without some of our regular players, but we have to soldier on.

"These injuries could not have come at the worst of times when we really need to collect all three points because we are well aware the importance of doing this."

South Africa squad

Goalkeepers: itumeleng khune kaizer chiefs fc (sa), ronwen williams supersport united fc (sa), darren keet bidvest wits fc (sa)

Defenders: ramahlwe mphahlele kaizer chiefs fc (sa), motjeka madisha mamelodi sundowns fc (sa),  siyanda xulu maritzburg united fc (sa), thulani hlatshwayo bidvest wits fc (sa), innocent  maela orlando pirates fc (sa), s’fiso hlanti bidvest wits fc (sa), buhle mkhwanazi bidvest wits fc (sa),thamsanqa mkhize cape town city fc (sa)

Midfielders: Vincent pule orlando pirates fc (sa), Lebogang maboe mamelodi sundowns fc (sa), Hlompho  kekana mamelodi sundowns fc  (sa), Fortune makaringa maritzburg united fc (sa), Teboho mokoena supersport united fc (sa), Samuel mabunda mamelodi sundowns fc (sa), Thembinkosi lorch orlando pirates fc (sa), Thulani serero sbv vitesse fc (netherlands)


Strikers: Themba zwane mamelodi sundowns fc (sa), Lebo mothiba racing club de strasbourg fc (france), Dino ndlovu zhejiang greentown fc (china), Percy tau royal union saint fc (belgium)

South Africa will aim replicate their victory at home against Seychelles to stand a chance of progressing to the AFCON.






My name is Jaramike Daniel a blogger with a vision, a programmer in the making, a web developer by hobby and a Nigerian by birth.. My dream is to inspire youths with passion in the tech aspect. I create and design websites for schools, Companies and Organisation... I can be reached through any of my social media listed below or whatsapp on +2348168210251

Leave a Comment

share on: